How I deal with living on the surface of the sun!

5 Aug

We’re going on day #35 of days at or above 100 degrees here in North Texas, and when it’s this hot and sunny outside you need to adjust your beauty routine. Here are some rules for surviving a Texas Summer:

Rule #1 of living on the surface of the sun is to wear your sunscreen! They say “everything is bigger in Texas,” so you’re going to have to get out of your car and walk in the blazing sun to get into the mall, grocery, etc. My go-to in the morning is Aveeno’s Positively Radiant Tinted Moisturizer. It is a moisturizer, sunscreen (SPF 30), and base color in one. I love this stuff because it goes on pretty sheer and gives me a little glow!

Some people think it’s not work appropriate to “show your toes,” BUT I work in radio and get to wear flip flops whenever I want so I have to keep my feet in good condition. Rule #2: Get a pedicure! No one wants to see your yellow toe nails and cracked heel skin. I also recommend re-coating your toes with clear coat nail polish to extend the life of your pedicure.  Also, don’t forget to exfoliate your feet in the shower and moisturize when you get out! I LOVE my Mr. Pumice Pumi bar – just a quick scrub in the shower is all you need!

Rule #3: Don’t let your hair get singed in the sun! I look like an idiot when I wear a hat, so when I’m outside my hair is exposed to the sun. To avoid all the moisture being zapped out of my hair (and to protect color-treated hair), I use Color Extend Solar Sunscreen from Redken. This stuff smells great and has SPF 12.

Rule #4: Look cool while protecting your eyes with sunglasses! I remember reading an article that said the sun here in Texas is stronger than other regions (we are exposed to more UV rays), thus making the need for sunglasses even more important. Just about everyone looks cool in the aviator style, and you can never go wrong with a retro oval frame (think Jackie O). If you want to be super trendy, check out these styles from Harper’s Bazaar.

It’s hot and you’re going to get thirsty, and if you don’t drink enough water you’re going to pass out! Rule #5: Always drink water and carry a reusable bottle. That’s why I say one of the hottest accessories this summer is a reusable bottle. Between my boyfriend and I, we have about 10 different kinds of bottles: Nalgene, Camelbak, and my new favorite: Insulated by Polar Bottle! The insulated bottle is by far the best at keeping my water cool and it has a loop on the top, making it easy to carry.

Leave a Reply

